Our Executive Team

Our Leaders

Robert Gordon

Janet Dalby

Janet Dalby is well versed in academic governance and management with more than 20 years of experience providing educational services in the corporate, private training and public polytechnic and university sectors.

Having worked for leading training organisations in New Zealand and the United Kingdom, she is highly experienced in analysing government legislation and implementing academic policies and procedures that are of the highest standard.

As Chief Academic Officer at ACTE, Janet is responsible for the academic delivery of ACTE’s courses and for implementing best practice across the organisation to ensure it delivers an exceptional education experience.

Zane Beard

Through his role as Chief Business Development Officer at ACTE, Zane Beard has played an instrumental role in the organisation’s growth from a Queensland based education provider to a national brand.

He is a specialist in sales, marketing and property negotiation and in identifying regions and markets for expansion, the latter of which has led to him successfully launching ACTE nationally across Australia.

Appointed to direct the Sales, Marketing and Development functions across the organisation, Zane works alongside the Executive Leadership Team to oversee the representation and growth of the business in existing and future markets.


Academic Board

Hugh Guthrie

Hugh Guthrie is an esteemed leader within the vocational education and training sector in Australia, with more than 30 years of experience in the industry working as a researcher and practitioner.

Hugh’s career has seen him lend his skills to some of Australia’s leading education institutions, including Flinders University, the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology and the National Centre for Vocational Education Research.

In addition, Hugh has also been an executive member of HERDSA, AUSTAFE, AITD in South Australia, VISTA and is a founding member of the Australian Vocational Education and Training Research Association. His services to the AVETRA were recognised in 2013 through his receipt of the Berwyn Clayton Award.

As Chairperson of ACTE’s Academic Quality Assurance Board, Hugh works to ensure that ACTE continues to deliver an exceptional learning experience to students.

Professor Emerita Berwyn Clayton

Berwyn Clayton also serves on ACTE’s Academic Quality Assurance Board and, like Hugh, has considerable experience within the VET sector, providing her expertise and knowledge to a number of national forums and councils.

Also a founding member of the AVETRA, where she served as President from 2000 to 2004, Berwyn’s career has seen her work with the National Skills Standards Council and on Innovation and Business Skills Australia’s Education Sector Advisory Committee.

Berwyn’s extensive contribution to the industry was recognised in 2014 when she was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award in the Australian Training Awards.

Berwyn brings her considerable knowledge and experience in improving policy and quality practices, particularly within the assessment and teaching fields to her role on the AQAB Board.

Executive Team at ACTE